Do Red Cars Get More Speeding Tickets? And Answers to Other FAQs

As the myth goes, flashy red cars are most likely to garner attention from cops—as well as their radar guns. But is it true?

1024 × 667

 Surprisingly, this urban legend is somewhat accurate. Some studies have drawn conclusions that red vehicles are more likely to be pulled over when compared to most of their counterparts. White cars are ticketed at the highest rate (19%), followed by red (16%), gray (10%), and silver vehicles (5%).

What’s more interesting: Only about 14% of the total population own red vehicles, which means that a larger proportion of red-car drivers are cited for speeding than their peers. The next time you think about going over the limit on I-70 in your red Honda Civic, consider the consequences!

Which state issues the most and least expensive speeding tickets?

Data from 2016 shows that more than 100,000 drivers get pulled over each day for speeding. Two in ten drivers—that’s approximately 41 million people in the U.S.—receive at least one speeding ticket each year. Those 41-million speeding citations raise over $6 billion in annual revenue for local law enforcement departments. But not every state sees the big bucks from pulling you over.

The average cost of a speeding ticket in America is about $150, but expect to pay heftier fines in states like Illinois and Nevada ($1000) and Virginia ($1350). If you get caught going over the limit in Denver, however, you might be able to breathe easier as Colorado’s average speeding ticket is around $100.

Am I paying more than the average state fee to register my vehicle in Colorado?

Colorado’s fees to register a vehicle are value-based, meaning you’re charged an ownership tax on your vehicle’s value (about 2% for new cars). The average cost for Colorado vehicle registration is about $26 per year. Many other states have higher registration costs, including:

·         Michigan ($58)

·         D.C. ($55)

·         Missouri ($51)

·         Illinois ($48)

·         North Dakota ($60)

·         Oklahoma ($100)

·         Texas ($50)

Which state has the worst drivers?

The answer to this question depends on how we measure driving skill:

·         If based on driving citations issued, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and New York apparently have the worst drivers.

·         If based on auto fatality rates (not just totals), it’s a split between drivers in South Carolina, Montana, Mississippi, and Wyoming.

·         If based on the number of DUIs, drivers in Texas, North Dakota, California, and Florida are the worst.

·         If based on speeding citations, then drivers in the small states of New Hampshire and Rhode Island apparently like hitting 88 mph.

Luckily for Colorado drivers, our state is about average. Yay for being average!

Are there any crazy or weird traffic laws in Colorado?

Thirteen states make it illegal for car dealers unable to sell vehicles on Sunday, but 26% of the country doesn’t make the blue-law prohibition weird. Still, Colorado isn’t without its share of odd laws.

·         Horses are considered vehicles in the state of CO, which means you can get pulled over and cited for common traffic violations when practicing your polo swing on the street.

·         You cannot mobilize and fire a catapult in or at official buildings, landmarks, or state parks.

·         Alamosa, Colorado, law states that any object launched at a vehicle is a “missile,” and missiles are strictly prohibited.

·         It may be illegal to store a broken-down vehicle within view of a public road, even if the vehicle is stored on private property.

·         Don’t think about proclaiming your love for tofu with a personalized Colorado license plate.

Are tinted windows illegal?

Although tinting your car windows in Denver isn’t illegal, there are strict Colorado tint laws in place for a reason: tinted windows can be dangerous if drivers aren’t attentive. According to the law, you can add a non-reflective (70% VLT) tint to the top 4 inches of a windshield, while any other windows must allow at least 83% UV light inside the cabin.

Too little film, and your leather seats and dash could fade quickly. Too much film, and you’re risking the lives of other drivers, pedestrians, and (especially) cyclists. For this very reason, it’s imperative that you allow specialists to apply your window tint. Contact our Kuni Honda body shop and schedule an appointment to tint your windshield according to state law.

What happens to old, discarded engine oil?

Did you know that 8 quarts of used motor oil can pollute over 100 gallons of fresh water? That’s more than 2 weeks’ worth of the recommended h2o intake for one person! Safely recycling and disposing of old engine oil is the only way to keep our drinking water from becoming nondrinking water.

At our auto service center, we follow all safety and disposal guidelines after performing an oil change. Any used oil we drain is then contained in federally regulated containers before being sent through the proper disposal procedures. That used motor oil is either burned off, discarded as hazardous waste, or recycled and re-refined for reuse. In fact, about 800 million gallons of waste oil is recycled each year.

If you change your oil at home, it’s also important that you follow the same guidelines—if you dump the oil down the drain, you may be drinking it down the line. Dial 1-800-CLEANUP for information or read through this article to learn how to dispose of your old car oil properly.

Have any other questions that need to be answered? Feel free to contact our Centennial Honda dealership at (720) 636-7000. We may not know the chemical composition of engine coolant, but we can surely help you find a great deal on your next new Honda or quality used car in Denver.


Sources & Media: